Home > Nutrition Program>Standard Policy and Nutrition Standard > National Food Safety and Nutrition Council (NFSNC)


National Food Safety and Nutrition Council (NFSNC) was approved by the Cabinet of Ministers on March 21, 2001. The establishment of NFSNC was supported by two secretariats of Ministry of Health, namely, the Food Safety and Quality Division (BKKM) for food safety aspects and the Nutrition Division for nutritional aspects. For the smooth running of NFSNC, two technical committees were formed, namely, the National Safety Master Committee and the National Coordinating Committee for Food and Nutrition .

NFSNC will convene at least once a year and all conclusions will be presented to the Cabinet by the Honorary Minister of Health.


  • Establish and enhance cooperation and coordination in facing new challenges in food safety and nutrition at local, regional and international levels.
  • Forming a stable food safety and nutrition control system based on scientific facts using integrated surveillance, enforcement, inspection, research and development methods. In addition, due consideration and attention will be given to food factors related to culture and religion
  • Forming government approval connected with basic food safety and nutrition at every stage of food production involving various central, state, local authorities, consumers and specific sectors, including the private sector
  • Being an advisory body to the government on all matters related to food safety and nutrition; formulate a strategic action plan for long-term activities; identify existing key issues and form a series of new technical committees for coordinating related matters as well as for development and investment purposes.


Puan Khairul Zarina Mohd Yusop
03-8892 4513


Chairman: Honorary Minister of Health

Chief Secretary: Senior Director of Food Safety and Quality

Members: The committee consists of 49 members as below.

  • 17 Chief Secretaries and 25 Chief Directors of various Ministries / Agencies
  • Attorney General
  • President of the Federation of Malaysian Manufacturers
  • President of the Federation of Malaysian Consumers Association (FOMCA)
  • President of the Malaysian Institute of Food Technology (MIFT)
  • President of the Nutrition Society of Malaysia (NSM)
  • President of the Association of Environmental Health (MAEH)
  • President of the Malaysian Institute of Chemistry